‘We Made a Difference Today’: Read Louie Gohmert’s Full Statement on Result of the Speaker Election


Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas) issued a statement Tuesday evening following his unsuccessful bid to challenge Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) for the top role in the House.

Here is the statement via Gohmert’s office:

We made a difference today. The results were not what we hoped for, but the voices of tens of thousands of Americans were heard by the people on Capitol Hill. Phone lines all over Capitol Hill were lit up by voters letting everyone here know the will of the American people. This was always about one thing –trying to have a Speaker who was sensitive to the will of the American voters. As I repeatedly made clear, this was never about one person.

We knew that if everyone were present, we needed 29 votes for anyone other than the current Speaker. If we achieved that, then either after the first ballot or second, we would have a conference of only Republican members of Congress to likely agree on a compromise candidate. The goal was to have a new Speaker with wisdom and honesty to lead the Congress. The fight does not end today. 

Our cause is a worthy one that we will continue. We must not be breaking our promises to the American people. We must keep the momentum that we created so that the House of Representatives can be as intended “The People’s House” and not just a rubber stamp for broken promises. 

This is not the last battle. We still have a President acting as if he were the executive, legislative and judicial branches all in one. We also need a House and Senate that are kept accountable.

After being told that we should now all come together and work together, we have been told late today that two of our Congressmen are being taken off of the committee they were on, simply for voting like their voters wanted. So, it appears before we can work together, we are now going to have another fight. It would be a shame if the Speaker of the House who has so much power is a sore winner.

A full list of Republicans who voted against Boehner, and who they voted for, follow:

Justin Amash (Mich), Rep. Jim Jordan

Brian Babin (Texas), present

Rod Blum (Iowa), Webster

Dave Brat (Va.), Duncan

Jim Bridenstine (Okla.), Gohmert

Curt Clawson (Fla.), Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.)

Scott DesJarlais (Tenn.), Jordan

Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Trey Gowdy

Scott Garrett (N.J.), Webster

Chris Gibson (N.Y.), McCarthy

Louie Gohmert (Texas), Gohmert

Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Webster

Tim Huelskamp (Kan.), Webster

Walter Jones (N.C.), Webster

Steve King (Iowa), Webster

Tom Massie (Ky.), Yoho

Mark Meadows (N.C.), Webster

Richard Nugent (Fla.), Webster

Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)

Bill Posey (R-Fla.), Webster

Scott Rigell (R-Va.), Webster

Marlin Stutzman (R-Ind.), Webster

Randy Weber (R-Texas), Gohmert

Daniel Webster (R-Fla.), Webster

Ted Yoho (R-Fla.), Yoho

—Courtesy of TheBlaze

We deliver meaningful conservative American news that is not your normal agenda based Beltway bull.